Valitse taso

The Cavalry Museum

Kristiinankatu 2, The Fortress of Lappeenranta

Opening hours
Summer season
5June - 20 August 2017
Mon - Fri 10 - 18
Sat - Sun 11 - 17

Museum is closed 24 - 25 June

Entrance fees
Combination ticket fot the Fortress Museums
Adults 8€
Pensioners, students, the unemployed 7€
Free admission to those under the age of 18

The Cavalry Museum 

The Cavalry Museum is housed in the former guardhouse of the Lappeenranta fortifications, and dates from the 1770’s. The museum was opened in 1973. In the Cavalry Museum you can experience the fire of the fierce Hackapelites and succumb to the charm of the red-panted dragoons. The Cavalry belonged to the Lappeenranta street scene from the 1880’s, when a garrison was built for the Finninsh Dragoon Regiment. Uniforms, weapons and numerous documents give a colourful picture of town and garrison life.

Lappeenranta garrison was constructed during the 1890’s, and was perhaps in its time the best garrison facility in the Russian Empire. During the 1920’s and 1930’s, both the Uusimaa (Nyland) Regiment of Dragoons and the Häme (Tavastland) Regiment of Cavalry were stationed in Lappeenranta garrison. Several uniforms and banners from this period can be seen at the exhibition.

Information: tel. +358 5 616 2257 (museum) and +358 5 616 2261 (office)